Prix Jardin d'Europe 2013

Prix Jardin d'Europe 2013

The Prix Jardin d'Europe 2013 is taking place in the frame of the [8:tension] - Young Choreographers' Series and is awarded on August 11, 2013 at 4pm at the Odeon Theatre Vienna.A curatorial team consisting of Christa Spatt, Christine Standfest, Michael Stolhofer and Charlotte Vandevyver has selected the 11 productions being nominated for this year’s Prix Jardin d’Europe edition. Among the nominations are works by artists from Belgium, Bulgaria, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, The Netherlands, Portugal, Sweden, and Austria:

  • Amanda Apetrea (SE) & Halla Ólafsdóttir (SE/IS) "Beauty and the Beast"
  • Eisa Jocson (BE/PH) "Macho Dancer"
  • Jana Unmüßig (DE) "Farbe, Farbe“
  • Lenio Kaklea (FR/GR) "arranged by date"
  • Liz Santoro (FR/US) "We Do Our Best"
  • Mariana Tengner Barros / EIRA (PT) "The Trap"
  • Marta Navaridas (AT/ES) & Alexander Deutinger (AT) "Speaking of Which"
  • Michael Turinsky (AT) "heteronomous male"
  • Rodrigo Sobarzo de Larraechea (NL/CL) "A P N E A"
  • Willy Prager (DE/BG) "The Victory Day"
  • Zeina Hanna (DE/LB) "Never Live Twice"

A jury, consisting of three dance experts selects the winner: performance artist Dalija Acin-Thelander (SE/RS), who won the first Prix Jardin d’Europe in 2008, choreographer Christine Gaigg (AT) and Gergely Talló (HU), director of the Hungarian Workshop Foundation, view all nominated productions.


Furthermore, by establishing an audience prize this year, the spectators also have the possibility to vote for their favourites. The voting takes place online on this website, where videos of all the nominated productions are uploaded throughout the period of the festival. The voting itself starts following to the last [8:tension] performance at ImPulsTanz.


The winner(s) of both categories - professional and audience prize - are announced in an award ceremony, presented by Eleanor Bauer, at Odeon theatre in Vienna on August 11, 2013.

The co-organisers Uferstudios Berlin and Workshop Foundation Budapest are hosting screening events on August 10, where all nominated productions are screened once again. Addtionally, they will live broadcast the award ceremony on August 11!


This year's prize sculpture is designed by the artists Maximilian Pramatarov and Alexandar Peev.


The audience prize, consisting of two mobile phones Xperia Z and one Xperia Tablet Z, is provided with kind support by Sony.


The jury award endowed with EUR 10,000,- and a two-week artistic residency goes to:

Amanda Apetrea (SE) & Halla Ólafsdóttir (SE/IS) for the production “Beauty and the Beast”

 The jury selecting the winner of the professional prize was consisting of performance artist Dalija Acin-Thelander (SE/RS), choreographer Christine Gaigg (AT) and director of the Hungarian Workshop Foundation Gergely Talló (HU).

Explaining their decision, the jury pointed out:

“We chose it because the performance manages to empty the codes of spectacle without taking away the strength of the performers.  The female performers can be self-assertive and aggressive, as well as generous and subtle. […]

We enjoyed the ironic twist, that women working in the marginalized field of contemporary dance, look for a metaphor for visibility and success and find it at the other end of the cultural industry: in commercial arena rock.

We chose “Beauty and the Beast” because it holds the quality standard of 8:tension, but at the same time it does not care at all about rules of correctness. It is refreshing and clever.”


Further, the Prix Jardin d’Europe introduced for the first time a brand new audience award. All nominated productions could be (re-)watched and voted for at this website.


The Prix Jardin d’Europe Audience Award 2013 – consisting of two mobile phones and one tablet provided by Sony  goes to “The Victory Day” by Willi Prager (BG) and "The Trap" by Mariana Tengner Barros/EIRA (PT).


The Prix Jardin d’Europe 2013 awards were announced in the frames of an award ceremony at Vienna’s Odeon theatre. Choreographer and performer Eleanor Bauer (BE/US) hosted the event. This year’s prize sculpture with the title “____sculpture” was designed based on an idea of Bulgarian/Austrian art photographer Maximilian Pramatarov in collaboration with visual artist Alexandar Peev.


The Prix Jardin d’Europe is one of the most prestigious awards for contemporary choreography in Europe. It was launched in 2008 and is as of now part of the new cooperation project Life Long Burning, which will be supported by the Culture Programme of the European Union until 2018. For the next five years (2013-2018) the Prix Jardin d’Europe will be awarded at ImPulsTanz – Vienna International Dance Festival within the frames of the festival’s newcomer series [8:tension] Young Choreographers’ Series. This year’s [8:tension] programme contained 11 productions and was curated by Christa Spatt, Christine Standfest, Michael Stolhofer and Charlotte Vandevyver.

11.08.13 - 11.08.13

Vienna / Austria

supported/organized by Danceweb