Since 2001, the ImPulsTanz – Vienna International Dance Festival has dedicated its highly successful and internationally renowned [8:tension] Young Choreographers’ Series to a new generation of choreographers – with changing curatorial models and artistic directors. The first international prize for young choreography was also awarded as part of the series – until 2018 as the Prix Jardin d’Europe as part of the Creative Europe network Life Long Burning, since then as the ImPulsTanz – Young Choreographers’ Award, with such famous prizewinners as Ligia Lewis, Florentina Holzinger or Davi Pontes and Wallace Ferreira.

In 2024 now, the [8:tension] series for emerging choreographers will take place for the first time under the artistic direction of Breanna O’Mara and Chris Haring.

We are very much looking forward to the expertise and special perspective of these two outstanding artists with their many years of practice in dance and choreography!

At the same time, we would like to express our sincere thanks for the work of Christa Spatt, who built up the series from 2001 to 2011 as artistic director and co-curated it in changing teams until 2017, and of course to Chris Standfest and Michael Stolhofer, who have played a key role in shaping and directing [8tension] since 2012 (2020 to 2023 under the sole responsibility of Chris Standfest). Chris Standfest and Michael Stolhofer will continue to be involved in the festival in their respective other functions.